AWARDS: 2013 Irish Comic News Awards Info

The time for the third annual Irish Comic News Awards is finally upon us and what a year it has been. I think it is safe to say that the Irish comic scene is growing stronger every year and the friendly community that supports comics within these shores of ours should be very proud of all that has been accomplished.

This year we shook up a couple of things about the awards and have added three new categories. Firstly, this year will be the first year that we will acknowledge the amazing contribution to Irish comics made by colourists with Best Irish Colourist.  We will also acknowledge this year the Best Irish Comic Related Convention. And finally we will be giving out an ICNA for Best Irish Comic Cover.

In years previous we have allowed the public to choose the shortlist with a short public voting period but this year we have put that to one side for logistical reasons and have brought in a committee of 7 to choose the shortlist for us. The committee is made up of comic professionals, people with intimate knowledge of the Irish comic scene, comic journalists and no members of the committee are ICN staff (Dave O’, Dave F., Hilbo, Tommie, Paddy or Colin). The committee do not know who each other are and we will not be releasing their names publicly. They have been given a period of time to send us their nominations of which the top 5 in each category will go on to the shortlist that the public will be voting on for two weeks beginning this Friday, the 18th of October.

Voting will end at midnight Friday, November 1st and we will announce the winners shortly afterwards.

Last year we received thousands of votes overall and we deeply thank each and every one of you for your support of us and the comic scene in Ireland.

Let me conclude by saying that we at ICN wish the very best of luck in the voting to those who made the shortlist and to those who didn’t, let me assure you that your continued love of making comics is what drives this little industry of ours forward and for that no amount of awards or thanks can be given.

Best Regards,

Dave O’Leary

Editor in Chief


%d bloggers like this: